Unknown

– Night Peepers –

… it felt like you wanted me to kiss you
but I was preoccupied with something stupid like;

how many branches to cut off of a tree or,
whether the lake has tides or,

if some strange glow bug
had a mind as great as ours

and was observing us
more so than we

it …

Or, I was waxing strange about
whether there were alien space craft in

the night sky when I knew that we
both had seen them …

When suddenly you said,

“Tell me how much you love me and
give me your kiss.”

And when I told you
and gave you, you said,

“Now, that’s more like it.”

And you loved me back
and we melted into

the summer sand and
we were joined with

the grains and

the rush of waves and
the blue black sky and

the orange moon on
the horizon and

the lights of
the distant shore;

the unseen green of another reality.

And the north wind swept us up into
the trees where we were absorbed

into pine scent and yellow pollen,
poplar leaves and curling birch paper.

And we became
the sounds of

the night;

wind rushing through leaves and needles;
the trees in concert with

lake’s whispered sounds,
and constant motion

a chorus of spoken sounds
wrapped in glacial water and

ancient growth;
the hush of night secrets,

spoken words reclined in
adoration and praise;

the murmur and moan of passion and warmth,
the friendly accompaniment of

sweet peepers delighted by our
flights ..

grown silent when at last, we
drifted into our

peace ….

 

