images

Nick and I sat against the back side of the low brick wall that had the university name and logo on it,  where we used to get stoned and make fun of hippies tripping on acid back when we were undergrads during the late ’60’s.

Nick, stared into the branches of a tree across the street. I waited for him to speak.

I moved around and sat cross legged in front of him.  I watched water pool along the lower trough of both eye lids. I’d seen this before in Nick; his dark moods.

Dark moods are part of who Nick is just as he is the sweetest, funniest, most energetic, loving boy/man I’ve ever known. There are many shades of darkness … and light … within him. But, they are all part of who he is.

I’ve had my loves. But, there’s only been one true love … and that’s Nick Michaels.

Still, I worry that he’ll cascade down into the bitter/sad salt of those missing years when, suddenly …

Some force seemed to pull me away from my dark thoughts!

…..

The trance broke.  Then …

… there’s Nick sitting in front of me; totally changed.   A mixture of youthful mirth, his right eyebrow a calligraphy flare at the end of a sentence, his mouth twisted into a half smile, his head cocked to the side, mischeviousness written all over the place. A question mark at the end of his eyes that said, you don’t know what I’m thinking do you?

Nick moved his face inches from mine,  his hands on my cheeks.

“Your eyes Jessica … .”

Yes …. I know Nick.  

“Shards of aquamarine, slivered together like a pie, different sizes, some overlapping all different triangular shapes pointing toward the darkness.

Pause …

Softly … Jessica … your eyes.

I love you too, Nick.

Nick pulled back, stared at my face our half smiles reflecting each other.

Jessica’s eyes glitter with soft smile, her lids relaxed, half open, looking very sexy; eyes that say to Nick, I’m yours for the asking anytime, anywhere.

Nick and Jessica sit back against the brick wall, their shoulders touching, heads resting back lost in their reverie.

continued …

 

