We sat at the bar remembering,

that day we talked,

our elbows stuck to dried beer,

the thoughts and words

I still see and hear.

….

The juke box played so loud,

I hardly heard a word

but I couldn’t look away

and you  looked so great

in those new jeans.

….

I flattened you against the wall

that wild night,

I had you in a lip lock.

…..

When someone said get a room

I asked you to dance

and you floated like a butterfly

while I stung like a bee.

…..

I’ll have fond memories

of that brick wall

until the day I live.

…..

That hard brick

it foreshadowed the time we had

before you were to leave;

the clench and bite

the devouring sounds

too hard to tear away

when your’s locked onto mine

with sights and signs

the ceiling lights above

the chimes you said I rang

you’d never rung before

that afternoon till midnight

my fingers and your sighs

into the zone of foggy bottom’s night

the mind’s delight

the place of our relief,

intimate sights

thoughts soft and firm

that still remain.

…..

You came to me,

we took the ride

and all at once it seemed

I knew you again.

The one you were

when we were

seventeen.

